You run a ten-person company, you asked ZoomInfo for a price, and what came back was a calendar invitation. Every page you have read since compares database sizes and contact counts, which is not the thing you are trying to find out.
The short answer is that six vendors will sell to a ten-person company today without a call, and the cheapest of them start at $27 and $34 a month. The longer answer is why ZoomInfo is not among them, and it is in ZoomInfo's own annual report. Its FY2025 Form 10-K states that "subscription contracts typically have a term of one to three years and are non-cancelable." Its CEO told employees in May 2026, in a document filed with the SEC, that the company is "accelerating our move upmarket, and reducing the resources we allocate downmarket." And its customers paying $100,000 a year or more now account for more than half of total contract value. None of that appears on any page ranking for this question, and all of it is public.
What ZoomInfo's own filings say about who it sells to
Three disclosures, all from ZoomInfo, all filed with the SEC.
The contract, from Item 1A of the FY2025 Form 10-K: "Subscription contracts typically have a term of one to three years and are non-cancelable." The same section states that ZoomInfo "typically bill[s] for services annually, semi-annually, or quarterly in advance of delivery."
The customer base, from the Q4 and full-year 2025 earnings release, filed as an exhibit to an 8-K: "Closed the quarter with 1,921 customers with $100,000 or greater in Annual Contract Value ('ACV')... These customers now make up more than 50% of total Company ACV." By the quarter ending June 2026 that count had fallen to 1,891, down nine on the previous quarter, while the share of total contract value coming from what ZoomInfo calls its Upmarket segment rose to 76 percent from 74 at year end and 72 the summer before.
The direction, from an internal email the CEO sent on 5 May 2026, filed with the SEC six days later alongside a restructuring that eliminated roughly 340 roles: "We are simplifying our operations, accelerating our move upmarket, and reducing the resources we allocate downmarket. The way our customers buy is shifting... and our largest enterprise customers are asking more of us."
Read that quote precisely, because it is easy to overstate. It is a statement about where ZoomInfo puts its own people and money, not a statement that small customers are unwelcome. ZoomInfo's own Item 1 says the opposite in general terms: "Our customers range from the largest global enterprises, to mid-market companies, down to small businesses." Both sentences are ZoomInfo's. One is a generic description of the customer range with no count and no proportion attached. The other is the CEO explaining a restructuring. The numbers in between, 76 percent of contract value from the upmarket segment and rising, point the same way as the second one.
The contract, and the document you will never see
ZoomInfo publishes License Terms and Conditions, which is the closest thing it offers to a public master agreement. Section 3.1 reads: "The 'Initial Term' of the Agreement is that which is set forth in the Ordering Document (together with any period of extension, the 'Term')." The same section states that "the Agreement is not cancellable and shall remain in effect until it expires or is earlier terminated according to its terms," with a single exception for a material breach left unremedied for 21 days.
The Ordering Document is not published anywhere. It is the thing you receive after the sales conversation. So ZoomInfo's public legal terms confirm that the agreement cannot be cancelled while declining to say how long it runs, and its pricing page carries six named products and not one dollar figure, with a FAQ that says "our sales team will work with you on payment frequency and options."
That leaves a small company with nothing public to evaluate. The one document in existence that names a term length is the annual report, and it exists because securities law requires ZoomInfo to describe how it recognises revenue to investors. The disclosure that helps you was not written for you.
There is a corroborating number in the filings worth knowing, because it shows the one-to-three-year range is real rather than a legal ceiling nobody uses. Remaining performance obligations, the accounting line for contracted revenue not yet recognised, stood at $1,252.4 million at the end of 2025, of which 29 percent was due to be recognised beyond twelve months. Two quarters later the split was almost identical at 28 percent. Roughly three in ten dollars of ZoomInfo's backlog sit in contracts running longer than a year.
The nine alternatives, ranked by what you have to sign
Every row read on the vendor's own pricing page on 28 August 2026, except Apollo and Clay, read on 27 August.
| Vendor | Public price | Monthly billing | Seat minimum | Free tier | Buy without a call |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Hunter | Yes, from $34/mo annual | Yes | None | Yes, 50 credits/mo | Yes, to $209/mo |
| RocketReach | Yes, from $27/mo annual | Yes | None | Yes, 5 lookups | Yes |
| Lead411 | Yes, from $49/mo | Yes | None found | 7-day trial | Yes |
| Apollo | Yes, from $49/seat/mo | Yes, except top tier | 3, top tier only | Yes, 900 credits/yr | Yes, to $119/seat/mo |
| UpLead | Yes, from $74/mo annual | Yes, except top tier | None on lower tiers | 7-day trial | Yes, to $199/mo |
| Clay | Yes, $167 or $185/mo, both live on its page | Yes, except Enterprise | None | Yes, 200-row cap | Yes, to Growth |
| Lusha | Credit rates only | Not stated | 5 users, then sales | Yes, 40 credits/mo | Free tier yes, paid tiers not confirmed |
| Cognism | None | Not stated | 5 seats included | No | No |
| SalesIntel | None | Not stated | Not stated | No | No |
| ZoomInfo | None | Not stated | Not published | No | No |
Three of these publish no price at all and require a sales conversation before a number exists: ZoomInfo, Cognism and SalesIntel. Lusha sits on the line, self-serve up to five users and sales-gated above that, which is a threshold a growing team crosses without planning to.
The rest publish a price and let one person buy. The cheapest real entry points are RocketReach at $27 a month and Hunter at $34, both on annual billing, both cancellable from inside the account.
If you want a shorter list than the grid: RocketReach at $27 and Hunter at $34 are the two cheapest published prices in the set, and Hunter and Apollo are the two that let you sit on a free tier indefinitely rather than a trial with a clock on it. All three can be bought and cancelled from inside the account, which is the property this whole article is about. Which of them suits the work you do is a different question from which of them will sell to you, and it is the one the rest of the shelf answers.
Notice what happens at the top of the self-serve vendors, though. Apollo's Organization tier is annual-billing only with a three-seat minimum. UpLead's Professional tier is annual-only and behind a demo request. Clay's Enterprise tier requires an annual commitment and a conversation. The pattern ZoomInfo applies to its whole product reappears inside the self-serve vendors, gated to a higher tier rather than to the front door. Buying self-serve today does not mean you stay self-serve when you grow.
Where the comparison you have been reading comes from
Of the nine results returned for this query, eight are published by a company that appears in its own ranking. Leadfeeder's list has Leadfeeder at number one. SalesIntel's has SalesIntel at number one, under the heading "Best Overall ZoomInfo Alternative." Kaspr, Demandbase, RocketReach and an affiliate site each publish one too, and Salesgenie occupies two of the nine slots with two separate pages. The only page in the set that is not a vendor's is a crowd-sourced software directory.
That is worth knowing when you read the contract language on those pages, which is where this article started. What page one offers on ZoomInfo's contracts is "flexible pricing without ZoomInfo's long-term enterprise contracts," "contract terms that make a mid-year downgrade difficult," and "rigid contract structures." Not one of those names a term, a minimum or a figure. The filing does, and it took twenty minutes to find.
We publish comparisons too, and we appear in them, so treat this page the same way. The difference worth holding us to is whether the claims come with a source you can open.
What to ask before you sign anything annual
Four questions, in the order they matter for a company this size.
What is the initial term, in months, and is it stated in the order form rather than the terms of service. ZoomInfo's public terms explicitly defer this to a private document, and it is reasonable to ask for the number before a demo rather than after.
What happens at renewal if your headcount drops. A non-cancelable annual contract signed at ten seats is a non-cancelable annual contract at six seats.
What the data actually costs inside the plan, since a seat price and a credit allowance are two different meters and the ratio between action types varies enormously between vendors. That arithmetic is covered in what Apollo's credits actually buy.
And whether the accuracy figure on the page means anything, since no two vendors define it the same way. How B2B data vendors define accurate has the detail.
If what you need is a tool you can start today, cancel in a month and evaluate on your own data, the shortlist is short: Hunter, RocketReach, Lead411, Apollo and UpLead all let you do that, and Apollo alternatives for people who send by hand compares that group on what they return rather than on what they charge.
Frequently asked
- How long is a ZoomInfo contract?
- ZoomInfo's FY2025 Form 10-K states that subscription contracts typically have a term of one to three years and are non-cancelable, billed annually, semi-annually or quarterly in advance. ZoomInfo's public License Terms and Conditions do not state a term at all; they defer it to a private Ordering Document that a prospect sees only after a sales conversation. The annual report is the only public document that names a range.
- Can you cancel a ZoomInfo contract?
- ZoomInfo's published License Terms state that the agreement is not cancellable and remains in effect until it expires or is terminated according to its terms, with an exception for a material breach that goes unremedied for 21 days. Anything beyond that would be governed by the specific order form, which is not public.
- How much does ZoomInfo cost?
- ZoomInfo publishes no price. Its pricing page lists six products and no dollar figure, and directs every option to a demo or a trial request. Any specific figure quoted online comes from a third party rather than from ZoomInfo, and those third parties are usually competitors.
- What is the cheapest alternative to ZoomInfo?
- Among vendors publishing a price and allowing self-serve purchase, RocketReach starts at $27 a month and Hunter at $34, both on annual billing. Lead411 starts at $49 a month and Apollo at $49 per seat per month, and both Hunter and Apollo have a free tier. Prices captured 28 August 2026, except Apollo's, captured the day before.
- Is ZoomInfo worth it for a small business?
- ZoomInfo's Item 1 disclosure says its customers range down to small businesses. Its own numbers point elsewhere: customers at $100,000 a year or more account for more than half of total contract value, the share of contract value from its upmarket segment rose to 76 percent by mid-2026, and its CEO told employees in an SEC-filed email that the company is reducing the resources it allocates downmarket. A small company can presumably still buy, and the terms and the attention are set for a different customer.
