How many LinkedIn messages you can send in a day

Illustration stating that LinkedIn publishes no daily message limit on the help pages that would carry one.

LinkedIn does not publish a daily message limit, on any page that would carry one. There is a limit. LinkedIn confirms one exists and declines to say what it is.

Two things get run together on every page answering this question, so separate them before anything else.

Price. Messaging someone you are already connected to costs nothing: no credit, no subscription. Messaging someone you are not connected to costs a paid InMail credit, or needs one of three narrow free routes.

Rate. How many you can send in a day before LinkedIn slows you down. That applies to both groups, including your own connections, and it is the number nobody publishes. Free does not mean unlimited, and pages that tell you there is no limit on messaging your connections are wrong in a way that will cost you an account.

Everything below is about the second one.

Reaching someone you are not connected to

Worth settling first, because the sending figures further down are almost all about your existing connections, and the reader's real question is usually about strangers.

There are four routes and LinkedIn documents all of them.

Connect first, then message. Send an invitation, and once it is accepted the person is a first-degree connection and messaging is free. This is the normal path, and it is why the invitation ceiling, not the message count, is what actually rations cold outreach on LinkedIn. We covered that ceiling in how LinkedIn's connection limits actually work.

A message request. LinkedIn scopes these narrowly: fellow members of a LinkedIn Group, and current coworkers. Not anyone you like. The recipient accepts or privately declines, and if they decline you are not told.

An Open Profile message. Some Premium members switch on Open Profile, which lets anyone message them without a connection or a credit. You do not control who has it on.

InMail. The paid route. It requires a Premium, Sales Navigator or Recruiter subscription, the credits are finite, and LinkedIn states plainly that no plan offers unlimited credits. You also cannot reach someone who has turned InMail off in their message preferences.

So for a founder without a subscription, the honest answer is that there is no volume path to strangers. There is an invitation path, and it is capped.

What LinkedIn actually says

There are two pages on LinkedIn's own Help Center that would carry a daily messaging number if one existed, and neither does.

The page on message requests, which is how you contact a group member or a coworker you are not connected to, gives exactly one statement about limits: "In an effort to keep LinkedIn safe and professional, we may limit your ability to send messages to members you are not connected to." No figure, no window, no plan-by-plan table.

The troubleshooting page for message sending failures is a checklist of browsers, extensions, VPNs and cache. It names two hard gates and no quantity: you cannot message a member who has turned off InMail in their preferences, and messaging a non-connection needs credits.

The strongest confirmation is not on linkedin.com at all. Microsoft's developer documentation for LinkedIn's own API describes 24-hour quotas that reset at midnight UTC, then states in one sentence: "Standard rate limits are not published in documentation." That is LinkedIn's platform team saying it in writing, on Microsoft's domain, and nobody ranking for this query has opened it.

One honest limit on that finding. LinkedIn's Help Center search cannot be driven from outside the browser, so this is a statement about the pages that would carry the number, not a sweep of every page LinkedIn has ever published.

Why there is no number to publish

This is the part that changes how you plan, so it is worth more than a sentence.

LinkedIn's engineering team wrote in 2021 that its abuse detection runs on "a deep learning model that operates directly on raw sequences of member activity," and gave the reason: "traditional features engineered by humans may not fully leverage the available signal in rich member activity patterns."

A threshold that a model infers from your behaviour is not a number anyone can publish, because it is not the same number for every account. It moves with account age, with how people respond to you, with how much your pattern resembles patterns that turned out to be abuse. LinkedIn's transparency report for July to December 2025 puts 97.8% of fake accounts as blocked by automated defences, and 99.7% as stopped proactively, before any member reported them. Those systems are the thing setting your ceiling.

So the honest version of "how many messages a day" is: enough, until the pattern looks wrong, and the pattern is judged on more than volume.

What happens if you trip it

LinkedIn lists grounds for restricting an account, says the list "may include" them rather than closing it, and one of the four it names is "Automated tools violations."

The page on that ground is specific about what counts. LinkedIn does not allow "the use of third-party software or browser extensions that scrape, modify the appearance of, or automate activity on LinkedIn's website," and calls it a violation of its User Agreement.

On getting back in, the instruction is to disable the software, after which "Your account will then automatically be re-enabled at the time specified on the suspension notification."

Read that last clause carefully. Even the length of a restriction is not published. It arrives on the notice. Any page telling you a messaging restriction lasts a fixed number of days is describing something LinkedIn has not stated, and in several cases is describing the invitation restriction, which is a different mechanism with a different trigger.

What the ranking pages publish

Every figure in the table below is an attempt to guess one specific number: how many messages you can send to people you are already connected to, per day, from a free account, before LinkedIn throttles you. That is worth stating because the pages themselves rarely do, and a reader who assumes these numbers are about cold outreach to strangers has misread all of them.

Ten publishers rank for this question and seven distinct answers sit between them. The spread is the clearest evidence that nobody has a source. Note the units: two are per week and the rest per day, and pages routinely compare them as though they were the same measure. Put on one clock, the guidance runs about tenfold apart.

Two publishers contradict themselves. One runs "Up to 100 messages per week" on one page and "50-100 per day" on another. One prints a hundred a day as a maximum in its body while its own page description says twenty to twenty-five a day is safe.

What the page publishesUnitWho it says it applies toHow it is framed
No hard limitmessages to connections, any account typethe only page that declines to give a number
Up to 100 messagesper weekfree accountstated flatly, 150 for paid
About 100 messagesper weekfree accountattributed to the vendor's own customer data, 150 for paid
20 to 25 messagesper daynot statedin the page's own description, against 100 a day in its body
50 to 100 messagesper daynot statedfrom a site that elsewhere says 100 per week
100 to 120 messagesper dayestablished Premium account30 to 40 for a new or low-activity account
150 messagesper daynot statedthe vendor's own recommendation

Every one of these is presented as guidance about LinkedIn. None is sourced to LinkedIn. At least one sits next to a section explaining how to exceed the limit the same page has just described, which tells you what the number is there for.

Four of them also print a higher figure for paid accounts than for free ones. No LinkedIn page we have read says that a subscription raises how many ordinary messages you can send. What a paid plan demonstrably buys is InMail credits, which is a different product surface with its own accounting. Treat the paid-tier uplift as unsupported.

There is one place LinkedIn has written down, numerically, what sending too much looks like, and it is worth reading even though it applies to a licence you probably do not have. Recruiter seat-holders must keep an InMail response rate of at least 13% across 100 or more InMails in every 14-day window or lose the ability to send. Note the shape of it. Not a volume cap: a ratio. Volume divided by response. That is what a system built to detect abuse is actually looking at, and it is why the same number of messages is fine from one account and a problem from another.

Two vendors also publish a specific cap of ten message requests per week to people you are not connected to. It is the only precise, twice-repeated figure in the entire set, and LinkedIn's own message requests page does not contain it. We looked. Until it appears on a LinkedIn page, it is a number two vendors agree on, which is not the same thing as a limit.

How to plan a week without a number

You do not need LinkedIn's ceiling. You need a volume you can sustain and defend, and the constraint that actually binds is not the one you have been reading about.

Start with the invitation ceiling, because it is the real bottleneck on cold LinkedIn outreach and it is genuinely documented. We covered it in how LinkedIn's connection limits actually work. Messaging first-degree connections is free, in LinkedIn's own words, and rate-limited by a figure LinkedIn does not publish. For a founder writing each message by hand the rate is unlikely to bind before the hours do. What binds first is getting people into first degree at all.

Then send at a volume a person could plausibly send. The detection described above is looking for sequences, so the shape that gets flagged is not fifty messages, it is fifty identical messages at even intervals from an account that has done nothing else. If you are writing each one, you will not get near a threshold anyway. A founder writing genuinely individual messages does not reach a hundred a day, and the arithmetic of who replies makes that a feature. Across 7,530,489 emails in 2025, Belkins found founders replying at 0.57% against VPs at 0.32%, and companies under ten people at 0.72% against 0.22% at the largest. Picking better is worth more than sending more, which we worked through in who actually replies to cold email.

And if you are choosing between the two channels for the week, cold email or LinkedIn DM has the comparison.

The one rule that comes from LinkedIn rather than from a vendor: do not automate it. That is the single behaviour LinkedIn names, in writing, as grounds for restricting your account.

LinkedIn's help pages, engineering blog and transparency report were read on 3 September 2026. Microsoft's LinkedIn API rate-limit documentation was read the same day.

Frequently asked

How many LinkedIn messages can you send per day?
LinkedIn does not publish a daily message limit. Its message requests page states only that it "may limit your ability to send messages to members you are not connected to," with no figure, and Microsoft's documentation for LinkedIn's API says of that surface that standard rate limits are not published in documentation. Third-party answers exist in quantity and none of them is sourced to LinkedIn. Messaging your first-degree connections is free in LinkedIn's own words, though not unlimited: LinkedIn confirms a rate throttle exists and declines to publish it. For someone writing by hand the binding constraint is usually getting people into first degree at all, which is capped separately.
Does LinkedIn have a messaging limit at all?
Yes, but it is behavioural rather than a fixed count. LinkedIn's engineering team describes abuse detection as a deep learning model operating on raw sequences of member activity, chosen specifically because human-set thresholds do not use the available signal well. That means the ceiling varies by account and by pattern, which is why no single number can be published.
How long does a LinkedIn messaging restriction last?
LinkedIn does not publish a duration. Its guidance on automated activity says to disable the software and that the account "will then automatically be re-enabled at the time specified on the suspension notification." The duration arrives on the notice rather than in the documentation. Figures circulating for restriction lengths generally describe invitation restrictions, which are a separate mechanism.
Can you send 100 LinkedIn messages a day safely?
Nobody outside LinkedIn can answer that, because the threshold is not fixed and is not published. The behaviour LinkedIn names in writing as grounds for restriction is not volume but automation: it prohibits third-party software and browser extensions that scrape, modify or automate activity on the site, and cites its User Agreement. A person writing individual messages is very unlikely to approach a volume threshold before running out of hours.
Why do different sites give different LinkedIn message limits?
Because none of them has a source. Ten publishers rank for the question and produce seven different answers, some measured per week and some per day, roughly tenfold apart once put on the same clock. At least two contradict their own figures on separate pages or inside a single article. Most concede in their body copy that LinkedIn publishes no number, then print one anyway, usually alongside a section on exceeding it.
How do you message someone on LinkedIn who is not a connection?
Four documented routes. Send a connection request and message them once it is accepted, which is the normal path. Send a message request, which LinkedIn scopes to fellow LinkedIn Group members and current coworkers only. Message a Premium member who has switched on Open Profile, which needs no connection and no credit but is entirely the recipient's choice. Or send an InMail, which requires a paid Premium, Sales Navigator or Recruiter plan and a finite credit, and which cannot reach anyone who has turned InMail off in their message preferences.
Is messaging your existing connections limited?
LinkedIn states that you can message your first-degree connections for free and publishes no cap on it, which is not the same as there being none: LinkedIn's engineering team describes velocity and frequency throttling as a standard defence, and Microsoft's API documentation confirms 24-hour quotas it declines to publish. The separately metered path is contacting people you are not connected to, which requires a paid plan with a finite number of InMail credits. Message requests are the free alternative and LinkedIn scopes them narrowly, to fellow group members and current coworkers, subject to an unpublished limit.